The Time Is Brain Review

Tai Ji for stroke rehabilitation: a randomized controlled trial on improving upper limb function and cortico-muscular coupling in stroke patients — more practice, or a specific effect?

· DOI: 10.1186/s12984-026-02054-y

stroke deep-dive rehabilitation tai-ji upper-limb

Stylized illustration of supervised Tai Ji arm rehabilitation and abstract brain–muscle connections
AI-generated editorial illustration. Generated for editorial use.

Clinical Question (PICO)

In adults aged 18–70 years with a first stroke 2 weeks to 12 months earlier, residual upper-limb movement, and sufficient balance to stand and walk independently, does adding supervised, adapted eight-form Tai Ji to conventional rehabilitation improve upper-limb motor impairment and activities of daily living after four weeks, compared with conventional rehabilitation alone?

The trial included ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke. EEG–surface EMG measurements explored directed cortex–muscle connectivity and muscle synergies. No clinical treatment-effect subgroup analysis by stroke type, chronicity, sex, or severity is reported; the healthy reference group was not a randomized treatment arm.

Bottom Line

The authors conclude that adjunctive Tai Ji is a promising, well-tolerated rehabilitation strategy. Among the 70 participants with completed assessments, FMA-UE median scores changed from 43.50 to 55.00 with Tai Ji and from 42.50 to 45.00 with control rehabilitation; the between-group comparison of individual change scores favored Tai Ji (P < 0.001). This supports the combined rehabilitation package, not a proven Tai Ji-specific effect: the intervention arm received twice the scheduled exercise time, and 14 of 84 randomized participants did not complete the study. Clinical results: Table 2.

Design

  • Trial type: Parallel-group, single-center randomized trial; participants and instructors were not blinded, while outcome assessors and the final-analysis statistician were blinded.
  • N randomized: 84.
    • Conventional rehabilitation plus Tai Ji: 42 randomized; 34 completed.
    • Conventional rehabilitation alone: 42 randomized; 36 completed.
  • Additional reference sample: 30 healthy adults, used to describe normative muscle synergy patterns, not to estimate randomized efficacy.
  • Randomization: 1:1; SAS-generated sequence prepared by an independent statistician, with sequentially numbered opaque envelopes opened by a separate research assistant. No stratification is described.
  • Setting: Fuzhou Hospital, China; the acknowledgements and ethics statement identify the affiliated rehabilitation hospital of Fujian University of Traditional Chinese Medicine.
  • Enrollment: Screening from March 2022 to January 2023; report published in June 2026. This is a look-back review, not a newly enrolled trial.
  • Follow-up: Four-week intervention, with final assessments within one week of its completion; no longer-term follow-up or mean observation time is reported.
  • Analysis: Results are presented for completers, not an explicitly reported intention-to-treat analysis. Within-group paired tests and between-group t-tests or Mann–Whitney tests were used, depending on distribution; categorical variables used chi-square tests. No adjusted clinical outcome model or missing-data imputation is described.
  • Primary outcome: FMA-UE, identified as the primary outcome in the sample-size calculation, assessing upper-limb motor impairment. MBI and EEG–EMG-derived measures were also assessed.

Population

Inclusion Criteria

  • First-ever stroke, with unilateral cortical lesions and/or subcortical lesions involving motor pathways.
  • Age 18–70 years; onset 2 weeks to 12 months before enrollment; right-handed before stroke.
  • Affected upper limb at Brunnstrom stage III–V; key upper-limb muscle strength at least MMT grade 3, and Modified Ashworth Scale below 2.
  • Standing balance grade at least 2; able to stand independently for more than 5 minutes and walk independently for more than 6 meters.
  • Able to tolerate EEG and surface EMG testing.

Exclusion Criteria

  • Upper-limb dysfunction due to another brain disease, severe complications such as shoulder–hand syndrome, or major systemic disease/organ failure.
  • Unsuitability for EEG–EMG assessment, including relevant electrode-site wounds or skin disease, implanted electronic devices, photosensitive epilepsy, or inability to tolerate testing.

Baseline Characteristics (completers; Tai Ji versus control)

  • Age: mean 52.32 ± 15.11 versus 56.36 ± 13.18 years.
  • Men/women: 25/9 versus 22/14.
  • Time since stroke: median 2.50 months (IQR 1.00–6.00) versus 6.00 months (1.25–11.00); P = 0.067. A nonsignificant baseline test does not eliminate the clinical relevance of this recovery-stage imbalance.
  • Hemorrhage/infarction: 14/20 versus 16/20.
  • FMA-UE: median 43.50 (IQR 17.00–52.25) versus 42.50 (21.00–54.75).
  • MBI: median 80.50 (62.00–95.00) versus 72.00 (56.00–90.50).

Only 84 of 568 screened patients entered the trial. Applicability is therefore to a selected, independently mobile population with residual arm movement, not all stroke survivors. Baseline data: Table 1.

Interventions

  • Both groups: Standard medical care and health education plus therapist-delivered, task-oriented upper-limb rehabilitation, stretching, and strengthening for 60 minutes per session, five sessions per week, for four weeks: 20 scheduled hours, calculated from the protocol.
  • Tai Ji arm: An additional 60-minute supervised session on the same weekly schedule: 5-minute warm-up, 50 minutes of adapted eight-form practice, and 5-minute cool-down. This adds 20 scheduled hours, yielding 40 hours total, compared with 20 in the control arm.
  • Adaptations: Experienced instructors used simplified movements, reduced ranges, wider stance, chair support or hands-on assistance as needed, with supervision and support bars. The program excluded difficult deep stances and complex single-leg balances.

This was neither Tai Ji versus an equal-duration alternative exercise program nor Tai Ji replacing conventional rehabilitation.

Outcomes

Primary Outcome — FMA-UE at four weeks

Values below are median (IQR), not means. The P values compare changes between groups; the paper does not provide the individual change-score distributions or a between-group effect estimate with a 95% confidence interval. Hazard ratios, odds ratios, and risk ratios are not the appropriate summaries for this continuous endpoint.

Measure Tai Ji: baseline → final Control: baseline → final Between-group change P value
FMA-UE total 43.50 (17.00–52.25) → 55.00 (27.25–64.25) 42.50 (21.00–54.75) → 45.00 (24.25–58.00) < 0.001
Proximal/upper-limb subscore 27.00 (16.00–34.00) → 33.00 (23.00–36.00) 27.00 (18.25–33.00) → 28.50 (21.00–33.00) < 0.001
Wrist subscore 5.50 (0.00–6.00) → 6.50 (0.00–10.00) 6.00 (1.00–9.00) → 6.00 (1.00–9.00) 0.002
Hand subscore 7.00 (1.75–10.00) → 9.00 (2.00–14.00) 9.00 (3.25–11.00) → 9.00 (4.25–13.00) 0.174
Coordination subscore 0.00 (0.00–1.00) → 3.00 (0.00–6.00) 0.50 (0.00–3.00) → 2.00 (0.00–4.00) 0.020

No prespecified clinical subgroup effect estimates are reported. In particular, the total-score result should not be restated as a significant hand-function advantage: that between-group comparison was negative.

Secondary Outcomes

  • Daily activities (MBI): Median 80.50 (62.00–95.00) to 93.00 (76.00–100.00) with Tai Ji, versus 72.00 (56.00–90.50) to 76.50 (63.75–94.75) with control; between-group change P = 0.004. No corresponding effect-size confidence interval is supplied in Table 2.
  • Directed connectivity: The methods describe descending motor-to-muscle and selected ascending muscle-to-sensory pathways as prespecified hypotheses. Significant comparisons included left motor cortex → middle deltoid (T = 2.053; P = 0.044), right motor cortex → triceps (T = 2.079; P = 0.041), and posterior deltoid → left sensory cortex (T = 2.188; P = 0.032). Hemispheres were standardized by channel flipping, so these labels should not be read as unmodified patient anatomy.
  • Exploratory correlations: Posterior-deltoid–sensory-pathway change correlated negatively with hand improvement (r = −0.351; P = 0.042), and right-motor–triceps-pathway change correlated negatively with wrist improvement (r = −0.350; P = 0.042). These selected, unadjusted exploratory associations do not establish mediation or a causal repair mechanism.
  • Muscle synergies: All four between-group change comparisons were nonsignificant: H1 P = 0.078; H2 P = 0.205; W1 P = 0.481; W2 P = 0.078. Both groups improved within group. Visual similarity to healthy patterns is not evidence of superior normalization attributable to Tai Ji. Synergy data: Table 3.

Adverse Events / Safety

The discussion states that no adverse events occurred, and the protocol describes exercise logs recording events. However, a detailed arm-specific safety table, falls analysis, and explicit adverse-event ascertainment results are not provided. Eight Tai Ji participants and six control participants withdrew because of incomplete intervention or refusal of repeat EEG; the report does not break those reasons down by arm. A small, short, selected trial cannot establish rare-event safety or safety in patients unable to stand independently.

Figures

The original figures below are embedded unchanged from the verified PMC CDN. Captions are paraphrased for this educational review; the original images and their contents have not been altered. Attribution: Xie et al., 2026, under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Click a thumbnail to enlarge without JavaScript.

EEG and surface EMG collection schematic
Figure 1. Schematic of data acquisition: panel A shows surface-EMG placement, with black squares marking the electrodes; panel B shows the EEG electrode layout.

Source: Xie et al., PMC13560274, original Figure 1; CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Image unchanged; caption paraphrased. 12984_2026_2054_Fig1_HTML.webp. Click image to expand.

Trial participant flow diagram
Figure 2. Participant flow from screening and randomization through final assessment, including the participants who did not complete follow-up.

Source: Xie et al., PMC13560274, original Figure 2; CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Image unchanged; caption paraphrased. 12984_2026_2054_Fig2_HTML.webp. Click image to expand.

Directed cortex–muscle connectivity and exploratory correlations
Figure 3. Cortex–muscle coupling: panel A depicts changes in descending connections (blue and red lines); panel B depicts changes in ascending connections (red lines); panel C presents correlation analyses. LM/RM denote left/right motor cortex and LS/RS left/right sensory cortex. Muscle abbreviations are PM, pectoralis major; UT, upper trapezius; AD/MD/PD, anterior/middle/posterior deltoid; BIC, biceps brachii; TRI, triceps brachii; FCR/ECR, flexor/extensor carpi radialis.

Source: Xie et al., PMC13560274, original Figure 3; CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Image unchanged; caption paraphrased. 12984_2026_2054_Fig3_HTML.webp. Click image to expand.

Muscle synergy comparison
Figure 4. Muscle synergy organization across the studied conditions. Abbreviations identify pectoralis major (PM), upper trapezius (UT), the anterior, middle and posterior deltoid (AD, MD, PD), biceps and triceps brachii (BIC, TRI), and flexor and extensor carpi radialis (FCR, ECR).

Source: Xie et al., PMC13560274, original Figure 4; CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Image unchanged; caption paraphrased. 12984_2026_2054_Fig4_HTML.webp. Click image to expand.

Criticisms

  • Dose and attention are inseparable from treatment identity. The Tai Ji group was offered 40 hours of structured exercise versus 20 hours in control. This answers whether adding the package helps, not whether Tai Ji is better per hour than another supervised exercise.
  • Missing outcomes matter. Fourteen of 84 randomized participants, or 16.7% calculated, were absent from the completed analysis. An intention-to-treat analysis, reason-specific missingness assessment, and sensitivity analyses are not reported.
  • Recovery stage may matter. Median stroke chronicity was 2.5 versus 6 months among completers. No adjusted model addresses that imbalance; P = 0.067 does not certify equivalent recovery potential.
  • Abstract versus tables. Broad language about motor subscales and synergy normalization runs ahead of the hand-subscore result (P = 0.174) and all four negative between-group synergy comparisons.
  • Mechanism remains exploratory. Numerous pathway and correlation tests are discussed without a reported multiplicity correction. PTE directionality is a property of the signal model, not an experimental demonstration of direct anatomical causation or clinical mediation.
  • Effect magnitude is incompletely characterized. Table 2 gives medians and P values, not a clinical treatment-effect confidence interval. The discussion quotes Cohen’s d ≈ 1.84 without enough accompanying change-score detail to independently reconstruct it from the table; do not treat it as a precise Tai Ji-specific effect.
  • External validity and durability are limited. One center, relatively young completers, independent mobility, residual muscle strength, and four-week assessment leave substantial uncertainty about older, severely impaired, nonambulatory, or long-term populations.

Funding

National Natural Science Foundation of China grants 82305357 and 62373108, and Natural Science Foundation of Fujian Province grant 2025J01948. The funding paragraph does not specify the funders’ role in trial design, conduct, analysis, or publication. The authors declare no competing interests. Trial registration: ChiCTR2200061376; this is a Chinese Clinical Trial Registry identifier, not an NCT number.

The paper

  • Authors. Qiurong Xie et al.
  • Title. Tai Ji for stroke rehabilitation: a randomized controlled trial on improving upper limb function and cortico-muscular coupling in stroke patients.
  • Journal. Journal of NeuroEngineering and Rehabilitation.
  • Year. 2026; published June 25, 2026.
  • DOI. 10.1186/s12984-026-02054-y
  • PMCID. PMC13560274
  • PMID. 42351241
Deep Dive — click to expand

What this is

This June 2026 report tests an appealing rehabilitation package: familiar upper-limb therapy plus a supervised, adapted movement practice. The clinical signal is worth examining—FMA-UE and MBI change comparisons favored the added program—but the experimental contrast is 40 scheduled exercise hours versus 20, not two competing ways to spend the same rehabilitation time. The following commentary is an appraisal of that trial, not a statement of current guideline recommendations.

1. Shadow Audit

The most consequential finding is not hidden in an EEG connectivity map; it is the treatment calendar. Twenty additional supervised hours could contribute through repetition, attention, motivation, or general exercise, even if the Tai Ji-specific component contributed nothing. Randomization supports the package comparison, subject to missing outcomes; it does not separate its ingredients.

The mechanistic story also exceeds its strongest numerical support. A hand subscore can improve within the Tai Ji group and still fail the relevant comparison with control: P = 0.174. Likewise, H1, H2, W1, and W2 all improved within groups, yet none improved significantly more with Tai Ji. The two highlighted motor–connectivity correlations were negative, about −0.35, not evidence that larger connectivity increases straightforwardly produced larger clinical gains. Those facts favor a cautious account of associated neural changes over a demonstrated dual-process repair mechanism. Trial results and limitations.

2. Inversion Engine

For the opposite conclusion—“Tai Ji has no unique advantage over another equally intensive program”—to hold, an active comparator with the same 40 total supervised hours would need to eliminate the clinically important incremental benefit. This trial never performed that test.

For orientation only, subtracting the reported baseline and final group medians gives shifts of 11.5 versus 2.5 FMA-UE points, a difference of 9 points. This calculated difference of median shifts is not the median individual change, not the trial’s estimated treatment effect, and has no reconstructable confidence interval from these summaries. It must not become an NNT or a patient-level promise. A definitive inversion test needs individual-level intention-to-treat estimates with uncertainty, baseline recovery-stage adjustment, equal treatment dose, and a prospectively selected clinical importance threshold.

The pathway claims are easier to destabilize: as an illustrative sensitivity check, even a Bonferroni threshold for only three tests would be 0.0167, calculated as 0.05/3, below the highlighted P values of 0.032–0.044. That is not a retrospective reanalysis of the full study or its true testing family; it simply shows why nominal mechanistic signals need independent confirmation.

3. Second-Order Catalyst

The first plausible adopter is a rehabilitation service already able to supervise ambulatory patients with residual arm strength, not an acute stroke reperfusion team. An implementation pilot could offer adapted Tai Ji as an optional addition while recording actual practice minutes, completion, falls, fatigue, FMA-UE, and daily-activity outcomes. This is an editorial proposal, not an efficacy claim beyond the trial.

The practical bottleneck is staffing and access. The studied program involved five supervised sessions each week, experienced instructors, individual modifications, and balance supports. Calling it simply “low cost” would ignore those resources. The trial provides no basis for assuming that an unsupervised community class or a video prescription reproduces the intervention.

4. Asymmetric Leverage

The potentially scalable ingredient is a structured way to obtain more engaged movement practice. For one participant, the extra commitment was 20 scheduled hours in four weeks; that is meaningful rehabilitation capacity, not a negligible add-on. Its payoff would be asymmetric if a service could safely provide those hours in an efficient format and demonstrate durable functional gains, but staffing efficiency and cost-effectiveness were not measured here.

A cheaper immediate benefit is better measurement discipline: separate proximal arm, wrist, hand, and daily-activity outcomes. A positive total FMA-UE should not conceal an uncertain hand-specific effect. Services can make that distinction without purchasing an EEG system or treating connectivity metrics as clinical selection tests.

5. Paradigm Destroyer

The habit this paper should challenge is labeling a therapy-specific mechanism from a dose-unmatched package trial. It does not displace conventional rehabilitation, justify acute-treatment changes, or prove that mindful movement has a unique neurophysiological effect.

A defensible two-sentence addition to a rehabilitation evaluation protocol would read: “Document total supervised exercise dose whenever an adjunct is introduced, and preserve conventional task-oriented rehabilitation. If adapted Tai Ji is offered to patients resembling the trial population, evaluate clinical function, attendance, and adverse events rather than assuming that EEG changes demonstrate recovery.” No change to the acute stroke call schedule follows from this study.

MVP — Minimum Viable Proof

The minimum supported statement is: among 70 completers from 84 randomized patients, the combined program produced better four-week FMA-UE change comparisons (P < 0.001) and MBI change comparisons (P = 0.004) than conventional therapy alone. That is enough to motivate a carefully monitored adjunct pilot, not to claim superiority per rehabilitation hour.

The minimum proof needed for a stronger bedside claim is a dose-matched, adequately retained trial reporting an intention-to-treat between-group functional effect and its confidence interval, with a prespecified meaningful threshold and longer-term daily-function assessment. The present report does not supply that proof.

Best Combination

The paper cites the 2018 review by Zou and colleagues, which pooled 20 mindful-exercise studies and found an upper-limb sensorimotor signal (standardized mean difference 0.70; 95% CI 0.39–1.01). That review includes a broader mindful-exercise literature, not proof for this exact eight-form regimen; its abstract also cautions that several other outcomes require further investigation. Review abstract and bibliographic record.

Read together, the earlier literature and this trial support further investigation of adapted movement programs alongside rehabilitation. The useful next step is not to pool their P values or assume identical doses, but to test whether Tai Ji outperforms an equally supervised, equally intensive alternative and whether any advantage persists in daily life. This review has examined the present trial’s full PMC source and the earlier review’s abstract, not conducted a new systematic review.

Overvalue Warning

  1. Do not convert a package result into a Tai Ji-specific or universally applicable prescription. Extra treatment time, missing assessments, recovery-stage imbalance, and selective eligibility all limit that inference.
  2. Do not convert biomarkers into proof of restored circuitry or hand dexterity. The hand comparison and all four between-group synergy comparisons were nonsignificant; the pathway results and selected correlations remain hypothesis-generating.

Educational use notice. The Time Is Brain Review is dedicated to medical education. Figures from published articles are embedded for teaching purposes, with attribution to the original publication. We do not claim copyright over any embedded figure; all rights remain with the original publisher and authors under the article's published license. If you are a rights holder and would like a figure removed, please contact the editorial team. See our editorial notice for the full policy.